Scratch assigned to my account (for a few months) but not showing up in the scratch GUI

I’ve noticed for a while that the storage use on my dashboard seems much higher than the actual size of my home directory:

(I’m actually using around 320GB in home).

Looking at the Grafana user table, it seems I was assigned 500GB of scratch space some months ago, I assume when I asked for an increase in home directory allocation, which I haven’t been using.

That allocation doesn’t show up as ‘active scratch storage’ in the dashboard GUI:

Is that because the allocation pre-dated the scratch GUI?

Please could someone un-assign the temporary storage I currently have?

Just to confirm you were allocated 500gb of scratch storage manually before self service scratch was deployed correct? I could unassign it, but I would need to terminate the server you’re currently running. You’d have 1gb when you restart.

I assume I was assigned it manually yes - I think there were probably some crossed wires in communication when I was asking for more home directory space.

Ah yes, please don’t terminate my server! I can let you know when I’ve finished with that session.

Do we know if anyone else has scratch assigned that pre-dates the self-service system? If so we should probably try and transition them to the new system so they can manage it themselves and have a consistent experience with everyone else who uses Fornax.

@ningj2413 - I’m not running a session now, so please could you unassign the scratch when you get a chance this morning?

It’s been deleted. When you restart your server it should be at 1gb. Let me know if this is/isn’t the case.

@ningj2413, can you check the unlikely case that we have other users with the same situation where they have scratch storage allocated but does not show up in the dashboard.

Yup back to 1GB now.

@azoghbi we have username: ogoann who also has 500gb that was allocated before scratch… not sure I want to delete it without them knowing for now in case they have anything in there they might want to save?

@ningj2413 We definitely don’t want to delete without them knowing. Is there any way to make that existing allocation be managed by the new system?

No theres no way to do that right now.

Okay, I’ll email Anna and ask her if she’s using that scratch space - simplest case is that she isn’t and we can just delete that old allocation.

If she is using it we can come up with a way of preserving the data in the short term, even if it’s just moving it to the shared S3, or her home directory (if the data are small enough), while we delete existing allocation and she self-service requests a new one.